My OCD–inspired calendar

I just had a lovely morning in the Student Center doing my usual start–the–day email stuff with my tea and tablet. Nice to be out of the office sometimes.

Wednesday’s workout: 30 min. lap swim | Rep challenge for legs: 740 reps in 18:41 min. (Knocked off ~four min. from last week!) | 60 min. walk


I suppose you know workouts are doing some good when you’re sore everywhere. All. The. Time.

I’ve been pretty dutifully following my two–a–day schedule. Morning cardio/swim, evening strength training. And just because of the check–list/color–coding/obsessive–scheduler/visual person that I am, I made this lovely calendar:

I made this one for up until wedding time, but I’ll probably make another for September. Maybe with a few tweeks, but two weeks into using it, and I’m pretty happy. I looked through many, many other workout calendars online, and didn’t find anything that was quite what I wanted… and I can make things prettier anyway, so I went to work designing my own.

The darker gray boxes are to track my distance (D), reps (R) and weights used (W). Then I write in what I did and how long it took me.

On the back, I have this handy dandy graphic for workout details:

I don’t use this everyday, but it’s nice to have a place for some standard workouts. If I go back and repeat one, I don’t worry about erasing and writing in the new reps. I just count them out on a sticky note or something, and note the total reps on the calendar. This side isn’t meant as an everyday tool, but it’s been really nice to have.

And finally, before you get tired of my charts and colors, I have these two lovelies on my desk:

They are business card size and laminated, so I can use a dry erase marker to check off each glass of water and serving of fruits or veggies throughout the day. For someone who’s really visual and likes to track things, these have been just awesome for me. They are right by my monitor, so are a constant reminder to go get water or grab an afternoon apple and such.

And I’m happy to announce that I checked off all eight on both cards yesterday! Because I’m awesome like that.

Anyway, that’s enough show and tell regarding my OCD–ness for one day. Live long and prosper everyone! 🙂

2 thoughts on “My OCD–inspired calendar

    • Thanks! I’ve had a couple people ask, so I may post a calendar without the day numbers, so it can be filled in for any month. I’m loving this one so far!

Leave a Reply

