Getting back on the wagon. Slowly.


Since I generally write about fitness or health topics – or mental health based on my pre–wedding posts – it’s high time I update about that.

Which is….. near enough to nothing.

On our honeymoon (which will be another post with a few pictures, so I won’t bore you with details twice), I made a conscious decision to not care about what I was eating and not worry about workouts.

We hiked several days, and we did yoga together a couple of days. And I ate wedding cake, Oreos, Twizzlers, chips…. it was honestly one of the most refreshing things about that entire week. Totally worth the three pounds I gained.

This week and next I plan to take it easy as well. I’m easing back into a more strict food plan and I’m running or doing yoga as I want. Wednesday I did a lovely, easy, two-mile jog. Yesterday Jon and I did some easy yoga. Today I did another comfortable two miles.

But, as you well know, I can’t take it easy for that long.

So Sept. 2 begins my second half marathon training program. Because, also as you all know, I like a goal. A schedule. Something to work toward. I did this a couple of years ago, and enjoyed it. I don’t plan to run a half, just as I didn’t before. It just gives me a good routine and some tangible distance and speed goals.

Plus, the 10 week plan conveniently finishes the day before our three-month anniversary. So I’ll be in good shape for that. And also very sore. But hey.

But now to the real purpose of this post!

I made a real dinner for the first time in our apartment as a married couple! Wednesday night was spent organizing and reorganizing and unpacking and cleaning the kitchen so that it is finally fully functional! Side note: as nice as it was to only have one of us have to pack and move, it’s a lot harder for me to make my space in a place he’s been living for two years. Certainly a process.

Back to dinner. I received a Corning Ware set of baking pans, and have been very excited about them. Probably more than they are worth, but regardless, I love them. Broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, squash, and potatoes with olive oil, lemon juice and whole ton of spices went into the oven. A mix of brown and wild rice went into the rice cooker.

Delish. And a bit too flavorful. I might have gotten a bit spice happy. I blame the Corning Ware.

Also, it’s worth pointing out that, as of tomorrow, we have been married for two whole weeks! More importantly, we’ve made it through the first week of a normal routine. And I’m still happy to be married, so…. success! It’s the little things. Let me have my moment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

