Training schedule? What?

Tuesday’s workout: 2 miles, 19:45 (10:40/9:04) | mile walk | 200 reps chest & shoulders.

Wednesday’s workout: 18 min. HIIT workout | 150 reps abs & core | 25 min. bike to work.

Today’s workout: 5 miles, 48:14 (9:00/9:18/8:42/10:59/10:14).


My workout calendar has arrows and cross outs on too many days this week. We’re heading up to NYC before the sun tomorrow morning, meaning I lose my Friday and Saturday workouts…. so I’ve been cramming and rearranging. And dying in this heat.

Tuesday was slated to be four miles. After my night run creeper on Monday, I went out right after work in the light on Tuesday. In 93 degrees and 200% humidity. My lunges decided that would take too much air, my stomach decided it was too hot, and my legs decided it was too much work. I have NO idea how that second mile was only nine minutes, except that I had already decided four miles wasn’t happening and my body really really wanted to stop. I walked a third mile, went home and collapsed on the floor.

Wednesday was supposed to be a 30 minute tempo run. I scratched that and opted for a HIIT (high intensity interval training) workout in my air-conditioned living room. I added some ab work, a good, long, much–needed stretch session, I called it good and settled on the couch with popcorn and wine to watch the opening night of football and some convention speeches. Plus I biked to work; first time since my fall.

Today my schedule said five miles, but five after work in the heat wasn’t happening. So I got up before 5:30 for a morning run. Except it was still too dark out, and I wasn’t about to repeat Monday. I waited until close to 6:30.

The first two miles felt pretty good, despite some hills. Third mile was an easy one. Fourth was horrible. Several decent hills in this one, and I was getting tired. Fifth mile was easy as far as elevation, but by then I was dragging and starting to lose circulation below the knees. All in all, I’m satisfied with coming in under 50 minutes. But it was not a pleasant run and I’m disappointed with how hard it felt.c-sleeves.png

FYI, I am ordering these compression sleeves in the immediate future, so I’m really hopeful that they will help with my feet and leg circulation problems. I’ll write about that once I use them a few times. Any thoughts on compression gear?

Also, here is your science lesson for the day on the effects of humidity, care of Wikipedia:

The human body dissipates heat by perspiration and evaporation…. Under conditions of high humidity, the rate of evaporation of sweat from the skin decreases. Also, if the atmosphere is as warm as or warmer than the skin during times of high humidity, blood brought to the body surface cannot dissipate heat by conduction to the air, and a condition called hyperpyrexia results. With so much blood going to the external surface of the body, relatively less goes to the active muscles, the brain, and other internal organs.Physical strength declines, and fatigue occurs sooner than it would otherwise.

Humans are sensitive to humid air because the human body uses evaporative cooling as the primary mechanism to regulate temperature. Under humid conditions, the rate at which perspiration evaporates on the skin is lower than it would be under arid conditions. Because humans perceive the rate of heat transfer from the body rather than temperature itself, we feel warmer when the relative humidity is high than when it is low.

Some people experience difficulty breathing in high humidity environments. Some cases may possibly be related to respiratory conditions such as asthma, while others may be the product of anxiety. Sufferers will often hyperventilate in response, causing sensations of numbness, faintness, and loss of concentration, among others.

Slightly encouraging to know that my trouble getting full, deep breaths and this recurring numbness when running is likely influenced, in part at least, by the hot and humid summer weather we have here in the lovely state of Missouri. Sigh…..*

Signing off for a few days and kicking this joint for some Big Apple adventures. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

