8 miles that did not go as planned

car key lost car key

Thursday & Friday: Lazy days. No excuse.
Saturday: 8 miles, 1:24:40


That today’s run didn’t go as planned is an understatement. I’m still surprised I finished them.

Felt good this morning, took my time heading out (Jon is in class all day, so I had a quiet morning), and went to the trail around noon.

I also lock my wallet and keys in my trunk and just tie my car key on my shoe. My mind was apparently really occupied on the coming run, because I pulled my house key off, tossed everything else in the trunk… and closed it. And then realized I had the wrong key.

Awesome.

Jon is in class, so I couldn’t borrow someone’s phone and have him meet me in an hour and half. My car is a pain to “break” into so that’s not an option. Sigh*** I’m annoyed with myself at this point.

But hey, I out here for a run. Fine. I take my run back home instead. I have no idea how far it is, but oh well. Getting home took me exactly 30 minutes. I guessed it to be between 2.5 and 3 miles – 2.62 to be exact. I checked.

I don’t have a fancy GPS watch, as it’s not in the budget at the moment, so I run marked trails (or neighborhood routes that I know the mile markers) and just lap my timer. This mean no split times for today.

But I did check the distance on runningmap.com after I ran home to map out the rest of my 8 miles. Get a drink, grab my spare key, and run back. Plus another 2.5 miles.

Let me just say, I do not enjoy running on roads. I like parks. Trails. Even a track. I don’t like sidewalks, people, intersections and cars. I don’t understand how people so street runs with headphones in.

All in all, I finished those eight miles in 1:24:40. Average of 10:24 per miles. I gotta say, I’m happy with that. Half way through the run I made a goal of finishing in 1:25:00… and particularly considering I didn’t have per miles to push myself, I’m a little surprised I hit the goal.

That, and the last two miles were terrible. As in horrible. As in the most miserable miles I’ve run in memory. My calves are so sore, and I am SOOO enjoying my new prescription compression socks. (More on that later, but in a word, awesome).

And horrible miles do not matter anymore, because GUESS WHAT???

Now starts my week–long running diet. I’m so excited.

no running sign

One thought on “8 miles that did not go as planned

  1. Pingback: On a workout diet | Piloting Paper Airplanes

Leave a Reply

