Top 5 Fitness Goals

If you know me at all, or have read this blog for more than 2.82 days, you will know how much I like lists. Here are some new health and fitness goals for the next few months.

journal diary goals

Monday’s workout: This plyometric HIIT workout from Brad Gouthro, ~ 20 min., 541 reps | This Pilates ab workout from JPPilates| Some crunches and a short plank.


My frustrating weekend motivated me to re–evaluate my goals. Or really, to get some new ones out on paper (er, blog). I had pre–wedding goals and then transitioned into my current half training plan, but I didn’t set new goals for this period. I guess just finishing the plan is the main idea. But I now feel the need to write some specific health and fitness focuses for the next few months.

So! My current top 5 fitness goals (in no particular order):

  1. Regularly run 8–10 miles for my non–training long runs.
  2. Hold a 7 min. plank with 10 lbs.
  3. Complete 50 full push ups.
  4. Meal plan each month to keep clean food in the house.
  5. Regularly get 7–9 hours of sleep every night.

I am at various points of “complete–ness” for each of these. For instance, I just started meal planning. The goal is to stick with it and keep it clean and smart goals sticky noteshealthy. I’m also pretty good about getting around 8 hours of sleep most nights. Running and planking I’m working on, so those are clear goals I can achieve with continued work. I could do 30 full push ups in the spring but haven’t focused on that since I started running more, so I’ve got to get back into regular upper body strength training.

The key thing to notice with these goals: none of them relate to weight or size.

This was very intentional, quite hard to write, and extremely liberating. I always have fitness or strength goals, but they are always paired with a weight challenge. Not this time. This set focuses on skills, not on the scale. A lifestyle challenge rather than a weight–loss challenge. It’s quite freeing.

I don’t have a time limit or completion goal for these. I imagine they will be my focus until the end of the year. At that point, I’m sure I’ll write some new goals and challenges for 2013 – with things like meal planning and sleep remaining on any future list. I also wrote some long–term health goals and a few other “life” goals; feeling more focused and purposeful now. 🙂

If you know me at all, or have read this blog for more than 2.82 days, you will know how much I like lists. They motivate me. Crossing things off pushes me. Lists, notes and quotes inspire me. Cheers to staying fit and focused on the last few months of 2012. 🙂

How do you stay motivated? What pushes you to your next level?

goal setting purpose life benefits

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Fitness Goals

  1. How I stay motivated…Well about ten years ago I discovered that I have a roaring fire that burns under my rear that never lets me slow down. (No, I do not have a disease I’m talking drive here;) I’m thinking it ignited the day I heard the quote “True success is not the result of spontaneous combustion – you must set yourself on fire” I’m not short of motivation or inspiration that I guess Im lucky for. Goal setting on the other hand, is one thing I’m not as good at but am trying hard to tackle. Way to go on setting your goals and thanks for inspiring me to do the same!

    • That’s such a great quote – I may have to steal it for my board.

      I think you’re pretty good at setting goals. You see a project you like, or something you want to do, and you make it happen! Or at least get it started and then you roll with it.

  2. I wish that every young girl starting puberty and on through mid-twenties suffering from self-esteem issues would read this post. Fitness isn’t always about and shouldn’t always be about our weight but how we feel all the time. I am active because I get more out of every area of my life when I am running. I handle the high stress days at work better, I am much more energetic with my family and feel like I am a better friend. The healthy weight I am able to maintain is just a bonus for me. Thank you for putting this into words.

    • Wow, thank you for the comment! I agree: weight loss can be as aspect of fitness goals, but it shouldn’t (and is even dangerous) for it to be the main goal. There are SO many other benefits that you can miss out on if the scale is ruling your progress. That, and it doesn’t help with self–esteem and the body–hatred epidemic.

      But…. I am just not figuring this out! Hopefully we can inspire teens and young adults to look at fitness and weight in a healthier way.

Leave a Reply

