1st place up in this joint

I entered a short story writing & illustration competition with my friend Casey… and we won!

Paragraphics Precious Casey Voight Larissa Dalton Stephanoff

Thursday’s workout: Warm up arm workout | The 1000 workout from Blogilates, 31:00


Yet again, no run. I had a chiropractor appointment after work, then had to work out, eat dinner and shower before a super exciting event. But first, this was the workout I did. It was hard (100 push ups, dips and walking lunges…. tough!), but I liked it a lot. I’m drawn to the simple rep workouts.

Blogilates the 1000 workout

On to the exciting news!

My co–worker Casey and I participated in a Paragraphics writing/illustrating competition sponsored by Adobe and Mizzou Media at the university. The theme was horror, so those who know me understand that is decidedly not my genre of choice. But Casey is a lovely of all things creepy, a long–time artist and a new author…. so she convinced me to be her partner. The rules were simple: 1500 words, 10 pages, illustrations made with Adobe software, teams of a writer and an artist.

Precious Paragraphics Adobe Mizzou Media Casey Voight Larissa Dalton StephanoffThe result was Precious, a short story that is less jumpy horror and more The Twilight Zone psychological creepiness. At least that’s what we went for. What really pushed our story to the top was Casey’s fantastic illustrations! First she painted the pieces, then scanned them, and did all sorts of effects, layering and brushes in Photoshop and Illustrator.

Last night was the Paragraphics event during which teams talked about their story inspiration and illustrations.

We won 1st place!

The bragging rights are pretty cool, but the real exciting part of winning is that we each won a copy of the Adobe CS6 Master Collection. Huge shout out to Mizzou Media and Adobe for putting on this event. We hope to see more in the future!

  • To read Precious, Casey posted it here.Casey Voight The Dove Book one of The Legend Book Tango

While you’re at it, Casey has just published her first novel called The Dove, book one in a series of five books. If you like to read, I recommend this book. Not just because the author is my friend; I read ¾ of it in one evening and quickly finished it the next day. Sooo…. I enjoyed it. 🙂

  • See The Dove here.
  • Check out Casey’s website here.
  • Follow her on Twitter here.

*

Happy Friday and have a great weekend everyone!

Paragraphics Precious Casey Voight Larissa Dalton Stephanoff

Paragraphics Precious Casey Voight Larissa Dalton Stephanoff

6 thoughts on “1st place up in this joint

    • Ha! I’m better at saying “no” than you are… 😉 But if you have an idea, it’s probably a good one that I’ll want to do.

Leave a Reply

