Fit Friday: Night out dancing, my fastest run in ages & my first pole fitness class

Well, this week felt really inconsistent. I’ve felt sore all week from working different areas, but for some reason it feels like I haven’t worked at hard. Maybe it’s more mental than anything.

Here’s what I did:

  • Friday
    • Went out dancing, so that was enough workout for my evening.
Some fabulous ladies {Piloting Paper Airplanes}

Great night with some lovely ladies!

  • Saturday & Sunday
    • Rest days except for my PT work that includes planks for my #plankaday.
  • Monday
    • 3.2 miles in 30:00 (9:22 pace). Woah!! My goal today was to do 3 miles at a fast–for–me pace between 9:30 and 9:45, so it felt AWESOME to exceed my goal. My strength and form work is paying off; it feels so great to see the improvement!
    •  Some strength work after the run:
      + 100 walking lunges
      + 50 squats
      + 50 sumo squats
      + 20 assisted pullups
      + 30 dips
      + 100 incline situps
      + physical therapy exercises which includes bridges and planks for my #plankaday.
  • Tuesday
Physical Therapy {Piloting Paper Airplanes}

Where all my back and numbing woes are finally fixed.

  • Wednesday
    • My first pole fitness class for an hour +. Pretty fun to try something totally new! The spinning did make me really dizzy though. I got home and had to immediately lay down for nearly an hour before I could take a shower. Then the dizziness turned into a nauseated migraine on Thursday…. so the next class I might tell her I can’t string that many spinning moves together.
With Casey Voight {Piloting Paper Airplanes}

We forgot to get a photo at the pole class, so this blurry afternoon coffee one will have to do.

  • Thursday
    • My head felt pretty terrible, so I didn’t do the cardio workout I was planning – jumping around would not have been good. However, I had a PT appointment on Friday morning, so I wanted to get a little back work in before hand.
      + 50 back extensions
      + 20 plank up/downs
      + 45 pushups
      + 30 side plank hip lifts on each side
Dinner of brown rice, veggies and sriracha {Piloting Paper Airplanes}

Dinner from my awesome husband: brown rice, veggies and sriracha. Simple and tasty. So nice to have someone to take care of you when you don’t feel well.

When I look back at my week, I did more work than I thought. Maybe because I only ran once (gasp!) it felt “off” to me. I’m hoping to get in a couple of miles tonight and then do a long–ish run on Sunday, weather permitting. Therapist told me to get back into my regular workout routine so he can see how my back holds up. All in all, he says I’m doing excellent. Pretty exciting!

Also, connect with me on DailyMile!


Like what you read? Share with a friend!

7 thoughts on “Fit Friday: Night out dancing, my fastest run in ages & my first pole fitness class

  1. You should do a little review about the pole dancing class itself! I feel like it would be really unique and interesting but I just have no idea what it’s like!

    • Oh that’s a great idea! The class package I purchased is four weeks, so I’ll probably wait until the end and talk about the series and the improvement from never doing it to a month later.

  2. Haha…I never thought that extreme dizziness might be a job hazard for those who dance on poles for a living! Sounds like you had a pretty solid workout week, even if it didn’t feel like it! I never feel like I get as good of a workout in if I don’t run.

    • Serious potential occupational hazard…. and certainly means I could never make it in that profession! Hoping to get a few good runs in the next few days; I think that’ll make me feel better all around.

    • Thanks! I guess if just feels different when you do workouts not in your normal routine. You should totally try a pole fitness class if you can find one. The package I bought was a groupon–type deal, so it’s cool to try something new for low $.

Leave a Reply

