Keep on keeping on

I had the BEST run on Saturday.

Six glorious miles, perfect weather, felt energized, and just wanted to run on perceived effort and enjoy myself. And it turned into one of the fastest runs I’ve done! Solid 9:43 average mile, all miles under 10:30 and four of them under 10:00.

Now I know running speed is completely dependent on the individual, so let me just tell you that’s pretty fast for me. My runs have typically been around 10:30 and upwards, depending on the distance. As I’ve been focusing on my form the last few weeks, my speed has increased to more about 9:30 to 10:00. I’ve been very happy with that improvement, but I hadn’t done a longer run yet.

So to stay in that range for 6 miles is an awesome achievement!

With that in mind, today’s Monday Motivation is about not giving up. Improvement will come as we persistently work toward our goals. I’m reminded of Dorothy Beal’s saying: “I run this body.” I do run this body. I push this body beyond perceived limits. I treat this body well to perform it’s best. I stick to my goals even when they seem far off.

So keep on keeping on friends! We’ve got so much to learn and accomplish, and I don’t want to miss a thing.


Like what you read? Share with a friend!

7 thoughts on “Keep on keeping on

  1. Aww I’m glad you had a really great run!! Those are the best 🙂 Love all that fitspiration. It’s so true. Make yourself.

  2. Congrats on the 6 miles!!! I’m running a 10k in a few weeks and even though I haven’t technically done any running over a half mile since November… I have been taking a Crossfit endurance class that focuses a lot on proper running form, cadence running, intervals, etc.. so hoping it will translate into a better 10k time!

    • Ooh, awesome! I’ve been doing a lot of strength and form work, and I can tell a huge difference in my running. Great to feel some real improvement. Good luck on your 10k!

  3. Great job on this run!! We indeed have a similar pace, so I know that these miles were speedy for you!! I love when my average pace is in the 9min range for longer distances.

Leave a Reply

