Some shameless self-promotion: Domestic abuse article

I worked on this article for most of last semester. It really opened my eyes to the perceived hopelessness of women who live every day in these situations. It’s scary stuff. And it needs continued attention from the media, non-profits, police departments, law professionals and local governments.

Illustration by Jill Hamilton, Inside Columbia. Special thanks to Kathy Casteel for her copy-editing.

I was abruptly – and pleasantly – surprised when the magazine told me in early February they were going to run it… four days before it went to print. It’s not as complete as I originally planned, but the short notice combined with a winter storm that shut down Columbia for three days hindered extra reporting efforts.

For better or worse, here is the article. I would say please enjoy, but that’s not really appropriate given the topic. Please be educated and aware is a bit better.

Leave a comment